My own Mustang

I recently bought a mustang of my own. It is a white 1969 mustang coupe with a 351 cleveland engine. I bought it for $3000 from someone and hauled it home, it wasn’t running. The reason I bought it even though it wasn’t running is because I wanted to gain a deeper knowledge of cars and how they work. The interior of the car is great but I found out the seats were rusted and one of the hinges was broken, so I bought new ones. It turns out the engine inside of the car was toast, so I had to buy another 351 cleveland, which was quite expensive. I am currently in the process of finishing the engine up with a new flexplate, given the automatic transmission which I will change later. I am also getting a new harmonic balancer because it didn’t come with one and the old one from my other engine is, well, garbage. The crank was also balanced by a machine shop. I have cool plans for the future, I am planning to paint the car red and I have already gotten a front spoiler.

CPY0B_oUkAAlDSP

When the engine is complete it will put out around 400 horsepower. Of course that will create problems because there is a small and weak automatic transmission in the Mustang. I am going to try and replace the transmission with a manual T5 transmission which will hold up to the power and make the car more fun to drive. Later on I will also have to replace the brakes because they are old and I don’t yet trust them. I think I may get all four wheels a set of disc brakes to increase stopping power of the car.

My Mustang doesn’t have much safety compared to cars of today. When I bought it, there weren’t any seat belts in the car, and there are no air bags like modern cars. Also, obviously I don’t have rear cameras to check what is behind me like cars of today. My new seats have seat belts and are anchored into the car very well. I also have new bolts bolting the seats into the frame of the car.

Leave a comment